Use Log File


Automatic Backup includes the option, Use Log File. Logging creates an entry for every change made in Big Business, which can be used with:
• Rollback - to revert to a prior state, say five minutes ago, to recover from an error
• Integrate - to maintain a live mirror for failover
• LogTools - to get detailed information about changes for audit purposes (enable Show User Names on Server)

This Solution describes settings and recommendations (use a Solid State Disk, SSD, when possible and do not use with external, shared, network (SAN), or virtualized setups. (6309)





Use Log File should be used with Automatic Backup, which resets the Log File when Backup runs.

Changes to Backup should be made when Sever can be restarted or Users can be disconnected, if needed.

Backups should be stored in a designated folder, such as by creating a new folder on the hard drive for Big Business Backups. Do not use default settings to store Backups in the Server Database folder in the Server Application folder as they may get removed or replace when updating. To set the Backup Destination Folder click the button on the right with the three dots (ellipsis).

To enable Use Log File:
1. In Big Business Server go to the File menu to Database Settings.
2. Click the checkbox for, Use Log File
3. Use the Save dialog to name and save the new file in your Big Business Backup folder.

Once enabled, Big Business will prompt you to run a Backup when you save the new settings. Click OK to run Backup and create the Log File, or Cancel to defer until the next Automatic Backup.

Please contact Support for addtional information on Integrate or LogTools.options.

Logging requires frequent and immediate access to the hard drive. Using an SSD is recommended. Do not use Logging with external, remote, network, SAN, or virtualized setups. If disk access is compromised in any way data may be lost.



Related:

Rollback
Show User Names on Server